Dynamics NAV 2016 Architecture

Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2016 has been built on a three tier architecture. Using this architecture provides scalability and flexibility. The three tier architecture consist of the following::

– Data tier
– Service tier (middle tier)
– Client tier

Each tier should be installed on a separate server but for demonstration or development purposes you could install them all on one server.

The data tier consists of Microsoft SQL Server 2012 or higher with a Dynamics NAV database. For NAV 2016 you need to have at least SQL 2012 or newer. The data tier stores all the business data.

The service tier is in fact a multithreaded Windows Service which is running as Microsoft Dynamics Server. We also call this the ‘NST’ which is an abbreviation for ‘NAV Service Tier’. The service tier handles all the authentication, business logic en communication and provides caching. The Service Tier requires at least Windows Server 2012 R2 as an OS.

The client tier provides a frontend for the users so that they can work within NAV. NAV 2016 provides several clients you could work with. For example: we have a Windows Client, Web Client, Tablet Client and a Universal Client.

The 3 tier architecture in a ‘simple’ diagram:

3 Tier Architecture Dynamics NAV


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s